Motivating staff – the Dan Pink seminar

Excited Businessman Speaking on Cell PhoneMotivating staff is not the easiest thing to do. In fact is it possible to motivate someone else to do something at all?

We can coerce or threaten and, to use that horrible word, “incentivise” people but most people only really do things they want to unless in desperate straits. In other words motivation, for most people, is internally generated.

Maslow‘s idea of people seeking self-actualisation may be considered old hat now but you can still see evidence of that human potential philosophy in the field of positive psychology.

Similarly Herzberg’s two-factor theory distinguished between motivators –  which were intrinsic to the job, and demotivators, or hygiene factors, which constantly need attention like money which motivates for a while but then loses its incentive value.

Dan Pink‘s seminar on this topic is interesting and thought-provoking and you can watch it by clicking here.

First posted September 2010

5 thoughts on “Motivating staff – the Dan Pink seminar”

  1. Seeing that i have been researching temporarly for just a really good read involving the following matter . Looking out in Google I lastly stumbled upon this site. Seeing this information I’m grateful to convey that I get a great sensation I found just what I was looking for. I’ll make certain to don’t forget this site and check it out on a constant basis.

  2. When I read a really great article I usually do three things:1.Share it with all the close friends.2.keep it in all my favorite bookmarking websites.3.Be sure to come back to the blog where I read the article.After reading this post I’m really concidering doing all 3.

  3. Simply discovered your web page through Yahoo and I consider this can be a disgrace that you are not ranked more due to the fact that that is a wonderful post. To switch this I determined to avoid wasting your Blog to my RSS reader and I will try to point out you in one of my posts since you actually deserv extra readers when publishing content material of this high quality.

Leave a Reply

